The moment my life changed

origin_2201822330(1)
Photo credit: dgali via Photo Pin CC

I was 36 weeks pregnant, due to give birth on or before April 15, 2009 when my water broke. We called our OB/GYN who advised us to go to the hospital immediately.

My husband rushed me to the hospital and during the ride, I could feel labor pains at regular intervals. When we arrived at the Emergency Room at 6:30 a.m., my husband had to leave me to park the car. I was asked to seat on a wheelchair and brought to the Delivery Room. Inside the Delivery Room, as I was lying down waiting for my OB/GYN and my husband, I was being asked all these questions while I was trying to cope with the contractions that were becoming more frequent. Mind you, it was hard to concentrate!

It happened so quick that my OB/GYN almost did not make it!

March 12, 2009, at exactly 7:14 in the morning, I became a mother to a 5.6 pound baby boy. We did not take any birthing or parenthood seminars prior to giving birth so I had no expectations and absolutely no idea how having a baby will change my life but the moment I felt my baby came out and heard his cries, I knew that everything will be different from that day on.

Giving birth, based from my experience, was a “walk in the park”. I guess you can say I was one of the lucky ones.

But breastfeeding and taking care of my baby was not. That’s a reality that new mothers realize during the first or second week of the baby.

My first born, Tristan, came out a month before he was due. From 2.5 kg at birth, he dropped to 2 kg in his first week due to the fact that he was only drinking colostrum for a week and the actual breastmilk came out only after a week. I was just lucky because my pediatrician is a breastfeeding advocate and she taught me everything I needed to learn at that time. My husband was very supportive and would encourage me to continue breastfeeding even if my baby was crying his heart out at 3 in the morning and I felt like crying and giving up.

First time mothers, especially those who have no experience with babies, would feel overwhelmed with the amount of responsibility that having a child entails.  New born babies demand so much time and attention that a new mother would not even have the time to eat properly or even enjoy a 10 minute me-time.  It takes time to get used to the changes a new baby brings to the new parents but once a routine is established, taking care of the baby becomes manageable.

Knowing that you are entirely responsible for caring and raising another individual will make you realize a lot of things.  Some of which I have listed below:

1.  You will think more about the future particularly the future of your child.
 
2. You will learn to become more selfless and would always think about what your child needs before you can even think about your own needs.
 
3.  You would want to give only the best for your family thus making changes to make sure that they are given the best.
 
4.  You will realize that the gift of time is the most important gift you can give your child. 
 
5.  Becoming a parent is hard work, it gets tiring sometimes but a glimpse of a smile makes you forget how tired you are.
 
It is indeed true when they said that when you are a mother, you are never really alone in your thoughts. A mother has to think twice, once for herself and once for her child.
 
Everyday since the day I became a mother is a challenge.
Everyday since the day I became a mother is a discovery of all the wonderful and not-so-wonderful things about motherhood.
But everyday since I became a mother, I feel blessed and thankful to be given the opportunity to nourish, protect, teach and nurture my children to their full potential.
 

My life may have changed forever but I wouldn’t have it any other way.
2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rose Canto-Hernandez
    Mar 18, 2014 @ 18:00:37

    I love this article! I am also thankful for the opportunity that God has given me to nurture a life despite the difficulties.

    Reply

    • sheryliza
      Mar 18, 2014 @ 19:43:10

      It is a big responsibility and no matter how hard it becomes, we should not forget that it is also a privilege granted to only a few so we should really be thankful Kasi we’re blessed that way. 😊 Naalala ko lang Kung gano kahirap nung start, no one warned us kasi and even if someone did, we only found out the reality when we experienced it first-hand.

      Reply

Leave a COMMENT

